The town Ribinsk is famous since XII century. Later there were living the fishermen. By XVI century Ribinsk village became one of the largest on the Volgs trade – transport centres of Russia and important trans – shipment point for cargos, coming from lower course of the Volga to St. Petersburg. In 1777 year Ribinsk village got a status of town. The emblem of the town was determined a coat of arms on the upper part of it, was imaged a bear, as a symbol of Yaroslavl province, on the down – was the fish against a blue background and two stairs.
For a long time Ribinsk was only the large port on the Volga. In 1871 year the railway joined Ribinsk and a capital Bologoe, that increased its importance as trans – shipment point. The growht of prosperity allowed to lead the important meeting for accomplishment of the town. The first gas – lamps, cars, first cinemas (which was called electro - theatres) appeared at the streets, and also telephone communication. All of that was done in 1900-14 years. In 1916 year was built a car factory - now «Ribinskie engine». In soviet time the town two times changed its name. In 1946-57 years it was Sherbakov, and in 1957-89 – Andropov. Since 1989 year its historic name was returned to this town.
Public constructions played an important role in formation look of the town. The building of river – boat station represents an interest, which was built in 1811 year in russian classicism style. The cathedral ring tower belonged to XVIII century, built in baroque style.
To the beginning XIX century belong the private house Pereslavzev on Lenin prospect. In the interior of this buildings were kept the ceiling paintings. Now at this place is situated the library in the name of F. Engels. On the streets of old part of town is kept the merchants houses – the architectural buildings of XIX century.
There is a modern interesting construction is the cinema building.
The large wall flatness is well seen in combination with simple cubes and prisms. There is state historic-architectural and art museum of Ribinsk, created in 1910 year, being one of the best museums on the Volga.
The collection of foreign art is the largest collection the region. There is a west – european part of this collection, which includes the west – european graphic arts of XVI-XIX century from Italy, the Netherlands, Germany, England.
The collection of foreign arts and crafts includes the production models of leading ceramic centres of Europe. At the part of East countries are underlined the Chinese chine wares of the epochs Zin and Min, and the models of Persian and Turkistan ceramics of XIII, XVI-XIX centuries, bohemian glasses of XVIII-XIX centuries.
The collection of russian fine arts gives a full idea of its development in XVIII-XIX centuries.
Besides, in the museum are represented the collections of «the Russian Orthodox culture», «the Russian graphics», «the Russian arts and crafts». Here, one can meet with the works of native art, and also with a collection of flora and fauna of the region.
There is the government of Darvin's reserve in the village Borok, created in 1945 year. The reserve is placed on the peninsula between two reach of rivers in the north – west part of reservoir Bogoy, forests, in general between pinery and mossy bogs.
There are a lot of berries in the forests: red bilberries, cranberries, bilberries, raspberries. Many wild birds and animals live in the forests, such as wood – grouse, black grouse, ducks, jays, sand piper, elks, raccoons and bears. The reserve staff study the influence of water - level variation in the reservoir on its residents, research the opportunities of local fauna enrichment.
For watching reserve territory need to get an permission on its government. In oder to return to the town, one can uses a moto – ship and takes pleasure of Ribinsk panorama.
Not far from the confluence of the Cheremushki and Volga, there is the most ancient building of the town – the temple of Kazan God's Mother. This temple was built in 1697 year, on the place of late cloister.
Five – domed church with hipped ring tower was decorated with modelling garlands. In the middle of XVIII century the temple was painted by Yaroslavl artel at the head of masters F. Ptatuev and M. Soplyakov. These painting are kept, and at the temple complex include sacristy and fence of 1831 year. Before the World war II, the ring tower and fence were lost, and the heads were taken down.
But after restoration, all of this things were returned.
Spasso – Preobrazhensky cathedral decorates the central square of Ribinsk. This cathedral was created by a project of Petersburg's architect A. Melnikov (1784-1854) in form of late classicism style.