In Middle Ages was settled there a village Voribjevo, from there appeared its
name. In time USSR Vorobjevi gory was named as "Leninskie" In 1949-1953 year at
the region of Vorobjevi gori was built a buildings complex of Moscow State
University with a sight area, from where you can admire to wonderful panorama of
capital. In light haze shine towers and cupola, to the right there is Neskuchniy
garden, to the left-Novodevichiy monastery. Many changes were happen at the
present days, but the sight area on Vorobjevi gori stay one of the popular
places for citizens and moscow guests. On Vorobjevi gori there are ski jump and
prepared ski slope with seats lift.
From Vorobjevi gory you can see
without any difficulties Neskuchniy garden, which is connected with Central Park
of culture. About its centennial history remind of old pavilions, sculptural
groups and architecture. It is the ancient park of the capital, place of classic
Moscow, place for lonely walking, where you can look aside from rhythm of
megapolis. And only "Okhotnichiy house" return us "to present day"- from that
place the transmission quiz "What? Where? When? are led.
Go to station
“Sportivnaya” by metro. From the exit turn to the right and in 10 minutes of
unhurried walk you’ll find yourself at the walls of Novodevichiy convent(created
by Vasiliy III in 1524)- the most notable place inthe architecture of
Novodevichiy convent is a Cathedral icon Smolensk God's Mother
"Odigitriya"-monumental five-headed temple. During patriotic war in 1812 year,
there was french army. After the revolution 1917, this convent was a museum, in
1934 year was a part of State Historic museum. In 1980 there was placed the
residence of metropolitan Krutizkiy and Kolomenskiy. And only in 1994 year there
was set up a women convent,on its territory placed necropolis. Behind south wall
of convent there is the main territory of Novodevichiy convent. It includes to
the list of UNESCO. Novodevichiy convent is one of the ancient and beautiful
On its territory you may see the interesting sun watch,
the old soldier's guns, and also beautiful garden. Glorious world Novodevichih
pounds-is a large territory, which is meant for relaxation and way of spending
time. A true oasis of pure air and silent.
It is the most biggest moscow reserve museum and wonderful historic monument
of culture XVII-XIX cent. Reserve Museum Tsarisino is a multiple-discipline
institution, where work constantly changed expositions. Work days :
Wednesday-Sunday at 11 a.m. To 18 p.m.
The greatest mystery of
Tsaritsino is Big palace, in which nobody has ever lived. Its building began in
1775 by order of Catherine II. The empress had never got tired of admiring the
idyllic nature. For 10 years Bazhenov was engaged in erection of tsar’s
residence, but didn’t find monarchic thanks: Catherine, had hardly glanced at
tsar’s ensemble, became so angry that ordered to demolish all constructions.
Mikhail Kazakov’s attempt to rebuild the Big palace hadn’t met with success.
After Catherine’s death unclaimed emperor’s residence began ruining. And
then something unforeseen happened – Moscowers grew fond of the ensemble,
condemned by the tsarina. May be owing to the richest décor, created by
Bazhenov, buildings, which have been kept to our days, look so alive, that they
have many mysteries.
Stars, kokoshniks, rates, made of white stone on red
brick, add to architectural fantasies of the architecture unique
peculiarity. Tsaritsino is attractive as unfinished book, - longs for
thinking out own variant of denouement! For holidays fiery fountains of
fireworks light up the palaces with fabulous light.
How pleasure to walk to
Tsarisin park! It stand on steep slope with deep trees. From there on several
kilometres stretch out great alley with convenient paths, bridges,
arbours. There are a wonderful pound with funnies ducks, ducking and twisting
their tails, they run to whom gives them a
slice of bread . Not forget to take with you a bread and see how pleasure to
In 1932 the park was
called after the name of M. Gorky. The park represents a united green massive of
over 60 kinds of trees. Dominate lime, elm, ash, oak, maple, birch, willow and
others. In the central part of the park grey nut-tree and walnut-tree, chestnut,
bird cherry tree Maaka are found. Rosarium, flower gardens, decorative
The park is situated along the bank of the Moskva-river; the
park zone is of 7 km length. Here there are many open areas with lawns,
flower-beds, sculptures, fountain. The central place in the parterre is occupied
with a pool (its square is over 5,000 m) with slightly uplifted figured
platform, onto which bridges-passages led. To the left and to the right from
central alleys are shady gardens. In the eastern part is the territory of
side-shows, behind which children’s town is situated. In the western part a
pavilion, pavilion of culture and Green theater (1928, reconstruction 1957,
architecture is J. N. Sheverdyaev). Holidays of New Year fir-tree, skating
rinks, schools of figure skating work; in summer landing stage in the
Moskva-river works; there is hire of boats.
One of the first public gardens of Russia. It is situated in the center of
Moscow, on the slope of Borovitsky knoll, along the western wall of the Kremlin.
Consists of three gardens, leading down to the Moskva-river: Upper – from square
of Revolution to Troitsky gates (length is 350 m, opened in 1821), Middle – from
Troitsky to Borovitsky gates (length is 382 m, opened in 1822) and Low – from
Borovitsky gates to Kremlevskaya quay (length is 132 m, opened in 1823).
base of the planning is three alleys, parallel to the Kremlin wall. Numerous
lime-trees, maples, blue spruces, decorative bushes (lilac, jasmine, bird cherry
tree, acacia, hawthorn). Flower-beds of tulips and roses are laid. An oak of 200
has been kept.
Wonderful cast-iron gates and a fence from the side of square
of Revolution symbolize the victory over Napoleon in the Patriotic war of 1812
(architecture E. Paskal); from the side of Manege the garden is fenced with
forged grilles (architecture P. M. Shestakov). Under the Middle Arsenalny tower
of the Kremlin grotto “Ruins” (1841, architecture Bove), in which an orchestra
played, was built.
The first russian
national park is created by initiative of scientific nature protect community.
National park «Losiniy island» (Elk island) is situated on the square of 10144
ha in the north-east part of Moscow (one thirds of the territory) and its
parkland zone (two thirds of the territory). It is one of the popular rest place
for citizens and guests of the capital.
Losiniy island (Elk island)
«Losinii island»- is a unique nature complex, a various
museum, where gathered variety of plants and animals world of Near Moscow.
Forest planting haven't been stopped during The World War II.
The history of
this forest massive is connected, first of all, with the great prince’s hunts in
Russia, especially with the name of tsar Alexei Mikhailovitch Romanov. Just in
the years of his ruling (1629-1676) in Sokolnicheskaya grove, the southern
extremity of “Losiniy island”, falcon’s yard, where people studied skill of
hunting for hunting birds.
The territory of “Losiniy island” is drained with
a system of rivers, springs and narrows with rather shallow plains. The main
channel is the Yauza river of 36 km length and 450 km of total area of drainage
basin. Besides Yauza within the National park its confluents – the river Budaika
(formerly Bugaika) and also the river Pehorka – flow. Unfortunately lately one
can say about the Yauza river that it is practically in very grave ecological
condition, which is irreversible.
The fauna of “Losiniy island” is
represented by over 230 species of vertebrates, including over 160 species of
birds, 38 species of mammalians; fishes are represented by 15 species and
reptiles – by 5. The faunistic complex of National park is formed of combination
of west-european elements forming the primary part of its population and taiga
kinds, peculiar to coniferous (mostly spruce) forests. Representatives of the
European fauna are hazel mouse, bank vole, wood mouse and many others. Taiga
elements are bullfinch, three-toed woodpecker, mountain hare and so on.
island” is interesting also by historical and cultural sights. Archeological
researches discovered barrows of IX-XI centuries, ancient settlements. The
archeological dig in Alexeevskaya grove, where remains of the palace of XVII
century were found, was sensational. And the history of Mitischenskaya
water-pumping station is closely connected with settling of the first in Russia
water-flowing water-pipe dating to the time of Catherine II. Formerly in these
areas a chapel was situated on the famous Gromovoi spring, the most abundant
spring of water for the capital.
There are train-ecological games and
excursion on base of National Park.
Sokolniki- is a unique complex of park, nature and national
culture, garden-park monument of art.
Sokolniki is one of the oldest parks
In XV-XVI cent. the great tsar falcon hunting was developed.
Tsar Peter the Great didn't like hunting, but could for a long time sit among
pine-trees of Sokolinoy grove.
There were outstanding artist A.K Karasev,
I.I. Levitan, I.I. Shishkin, they devoted to Sakolniki their works. P.I.
Tchyakovsky often came there, F.I. Shalyapin take the concerts there too. Some
interesting facts from biography of Mayakovsky was connected to Sakolniki
Park has a square almost 600 hectare( it is double twice more
than the territory of Hyde Park in London) was opened in 1931 year on territory
of old Sokolnoy grove.
Still it is the loved place for citizens.
nature of Sokolniki is famed for rosarium. At guests service concert artists,
side-shows, billiards, sport area, tennis-courts, in winter ski traces and
skating rink. Here are opened The House of child's creative work,
cultural-exhibition center-on its territory carry out russian and international
People call Sakolniki «Moscow pearl»
You ask yourself-why the hill have such unusual name? Once Poklonnaya hill
was placed far from Moscow, and from its peak was opened a panorama of the city.
Travels are often stayed there in odr to bow low to this hill and look at
Moscow. Some time the hill was called Poklonnaya on Smolensk road. Napoleon was
waited for delivery of Moscow key, as is well known, couldn't wait. Crossing
by Poklonnaya hill went russian soldiers to defend from the enemy army
during the World War II.
On 23 February 1958 year was placed mountain's sign
on Poklonnaya hill. On 9 May 1995 was the unveiling of memorial complex.
memorial complex include itself the central museum of the World War II, monument
of Victory, and three temples (Saint Georgy Pobedonosez Temple, Memorial
mosque, Memorial synagogue). The central museum of the World War II is placed on
round square of Pobediteley.
You should see the exhibition of military
equipments, you can to touch its exhibit.
Let's go to the park with wide
alleys! You see it is the biggest flower watch in the world. Its minute hand is
4,5 m in length.
The main botanical garden of Russian Academy of Sciences – a unique
establishment, where several generations of research workers and gardeners
collected the richest collection of plants, representing manifold plant world of
the Earth. The official date of foundation the Main Botanical Garden is
considered to be April, 14, 1945.
In the Botanical garden all important
expositions were built and collection lots were made. In the Stock greenhouse
one of the largest in Europe collection of tropical and subtropical plants,
counting about 5300 kinds and forms. In the eastern part of the Garden, siding
with All-Russian exhibition center, an exposition of European part of Russia,
Siberia, Far East tropical and subtropical flora is situated.
expositions plants of tundra, various types of forests (dark coniferous, light
coniferous, deciduous, mixed coniferous-broad-leaved and other), meadows,
including alpine and subalpine, steppes, deserts – in total over 2000 kinds, 300
kinds of which are rare and vanishing species. At the reservoirs and channels
water-resistant plants are grouped.
On the artificial little hills,
different in size and form, plant groups of altitudinal belts of various
botanical and geographical regions are set. Collection lots of flower and
decorative plants are located on the territory, closed for visiting. These
collections serve as bases for introduction researches.
One of the most
beautiful and attended expositions “Rosarium” is being reconstructed now.
Exposition “Rokariy” is being also reconstructed.
Arboretum is the largest exposition of the Garden, spreading for the area of
75 ha. Among trees and bushes there are numerous migrants from various areas of
our country, and also of other countries and continents – Western Europe, Japan,
China, Northern America.
The arboretum is built as a landscape park, however
plants in it adjoin by principle of systematic cognation. On one glade one can
see a group of species close to each other, originated from different nooks of
the Earth but belonging to one and the same genus.
The stock greenhouse
(built in 1954) represents the unique combination of live museum of tropical and
subtropical plants, available for a wide circle of visitors. The greenhouse is a
depository of live collections, originally got from botanical gardens of Germany
and supplemented in the result of interchange and purchases in different
botanical establishments of the whole Earth, and also collected by research
workers of the Main Botanical Garden during expeditions in various tropical
regions (Vietnam, Madagascar, India, Cuba, Brazil and others). The stock
greenhouse is also a depository of rare and vanishing species of plants. Over a
hundred species of its collection are entered into the International Red book.
The Garden was rewarded with international and national prizes and
Izmailovsky park is situated in eastern part of Moscow. It is one of the
biggest capital park. It consist of two parts: Izmailovsky culture park and
Izmailosky forest park, which are divided by The Main alley.
This park was
created by the decision of Mossovet in 1930 year and rapidly became one of the
best parks in USSR.
In winter you may visit a skate rink «Silver ice» and
skis pension with big ice-run and horse-gears. And summer you may visit
On the territory of nature-historic park remained
architectural monuments XVII cent.: five-headed cathedral and Bridge
tower(1671). Among notable construction of Izmailovo are the gate, which served
as enters to the territory of tsar's house.
Sights of this park are the
lime-tree and oak forests. Here you can see lily of valley, yellow iris, wild
animals and different birds
Within limits of forest massive there are 13
ponds, among them Lebedyanskiy is the biggest one.
Architectors say, that the
light opens people eyes to the architecture. You should visit the History museum
of state lightening «Moscow fires»