In 1781 year the village «Voskresensloe», is famous since 16 century was transfered in uyezd town «Voskresensk». In 1930 year this town was renamed as «Istra», this name belonged to the river's name. So that was a decision of Moscow conference. The members of this organization were atheists, wanted to change all name in Near Moscow, which could bring any mention of God.
During the World War II, the town Istra was occupied by fascists army (since 27 November till 11 December, by its retreat, was almost destroyed. After post-war years, the houses became to build up in the town, since 60th appeared the many-storied types of microrayon. Industry and science were rapidly developed in the town. Istra became the research centre in energetic sphere.
The main sight of Istra is «Novojeruselemsky monastery» It was created in 1656 by patriarchy Nikon as Near Moscow residence for patriarchys. The houses with some intervals was building for several decade, and finished after the death of rebellious patriarchy. Nikon couldn't see the great building. By the work of this temple were engaged the best architect and a lot of peasants. In the number of architects, who created the wonderful ensemble, were V.V. Rastrelly, M.F. Kazakov, A.N. Voronikhin, and others. Some building copies the figures of Jerusalem erections, for instance, one-headed cross-domed «Voskresensky Cathedral»(1656-1685), was built in God's grave image. By it is added a hip chapel of God's grave, Uspenskaya church, and underground church. In one of the side-chapel was graved Nikon. Besides, it should be mentioned the Nikon's cell, where he was living for 1694-1697 years.
In XVII cent. according to Nikon's initiative was collected a big library on the territory of temple. This temple was the main center of pelgrimage. Its outskirts attracted many visitors and lovers of unusual architecture. There was M.U. Lermontov, devoted New Jerusalem his poem.
After October Revolution «Novojeruselemsky monastery» was abolished. Its property was nationalized, and in 1921 year was opened art-historical museum, and museum of local lore, in which was included the whole monastery ensemble.
Later there was placed Moscow museum of local lore. In museum funds was keeping the richest engraving collection of XVII-XVIII cent., old-printed books and manuscripts of XVI-XIX cent., the church's things.
In 1941 year a lot of building were suffered as the result of military operations, but were reconstructed at the end of 50th year.
The reconstruction works is being still.
It should be mentioned, that outskirts of Istra, connected with the name of Anton Pavlovich Tchekhov, he worked at the local hospital. There he wrote their novels, such as «Surgery», «Runaway», the Grief». He came to the village «Babkino» every summer. There lived I. Levitan.
The beautiful, wonderful places of Istra attracted a lot of famous artists and writers, composers. Near the town there is a hotel-park «Ognikovo», which is placed in picturesque river's bank. There is a beautiful village «Polizhaiky»,in such places you may find a lot of mushrooms.