The making tour of the town usually begin visiting of local Kremlin. Firstly, this Kremlin was a residence of archpriests of Rostov – Yaroslavl eparchy, but not a princely stronghold, like in other towns. That's why this Kremlin was called as Archpriest yard. The Kremlin divided on three part be sight: at the first part was placed Archpriest yard with temples and dwelling houses, at the second part – on north - was the cathedral square with Uspensky cathedral, and on south there was a metropolitan garden, where stood one of the first russian school – «Grigorjevsky zatvor».
The way from holy gates leads to the main temple of the Kremlin – the Uspensky cathedral. The history of this Kremlin is counted more than thousands years. Firstly, on its place was built a wooden church, made from oak materials. However, having stood a century, it was burnt. Than on that place was erected new first stone building by order of Andrey Bogolubsky in Russia – the cathedral of the Homage of Blessed Virgin. But this temple couldn't stand its ground too – in 40 years after the finishing construction this cathedral was crushed down, as the result of fire.
The new cathedral began to erect in 1213 year. It was suffered the same fate, as later buildings, in spite of ancient architects in stone work had used milk and oil for walls strengthening. Modern cathedral, according to researches, was built in 1508-12 years.
In spite of rebuilding this cathedral for many times, the modern cathedral include several elements, leaving from previous constructions. Example of that is Leontjevsky side – chapel, which called sometime as cave side – chapel, so it is placed much lower the altar. It was erected in 1161 year. Right at this place were found the holy bones of the bishop Leontiy, which are kept in the side – chapel to present days. At this cathedral were buried the bodies of metropolitans and kings.
Near cathedral there is a four – headed ring and famous in Russia its special rings were casted in XVII - XIX centuries. Both, they create the famous sound, a lot of people come to this place to listen it. Each ring has its own name.
One more sight of Rostov Kremlin – all construction joined the crossings, which are famous for all people in Russia. From Uspensky cathedral one can reach to the ring, the church of Voskresenie, and other buildings. By the way, the Kremlin stand near one more sight of Rstov is lake Nero. It is the biggest reservoir of Yaroslavl region. Its length is12,5 km, depth – 4,5 m, wide – 8 km. More than 20 rivers and streams flow into the Nero, and flows out of – the Veksa river. On the banks of this reservoir, besides the Kremlin, are placed many villages, where were kept a lot of temples.
Churches, built in XVIII and XIX centuries, one can see in the villages such as: Porechje-Ribnoe, Klimatino, Veksizi, Ugodichi and others. On the lake is placed the Spasso – Yakovlevsky cloister. This cloister was opened in 1389 year and at that time the cloister had the other name. After the holy bones of Dmitry Rostovsky were put in one of the temples, this residence was renamed as Dmitrievsky, and later it called in the name of its creator the bishop Iakov.
The first stone temple of the cloister appeared in 1686 year. It was the five – domed Zachatjevsky cathedral. Before all of buildings of this residence were wooden. At present time the bones of St. Dmitry and St. Iakov are kept in the temple. The inside interior of the temple transfers a sense of evangelical plots.
Near Zachatjevsky cathedral are placed two temples – Yakovlevskay and Dmotrievskaya churches. The last one was built in 1794 year on earl N. Sheremetjev means in classicism style. Before near Yakovlevsky cloister was situated one more temple, having been called – Spassko-Knyaginin, created in XIII century by princess Maria. After her husband death, she went into a convent. And after her death, her body was buried at this place too. After the reforms of Catherine II in 1764 year, the Knyaginin convent was abolished. As th result all buildings came to Yakovlevskaya residence. In particular, to this residence was joined the church Spassa on the sands, built in 1603 year.
Near these cloisters are placed the other architectural monuments – the church icon of Tolgskaya blessed Virgin and Ioann Gracious, Nikola, the Ascension of God and Spassa – on – Torg. These buildings were built in XVII-XIX centuries. There is a drawings on the walls of the Ascension of God church, belonged to famous artists.
Proletarskaya street leads to another sight of the town – Avraamiev – Bogoyavlenny monastery. According to local legend this temple was opened in XI cent. by monk Avraamy, who had gotten a benediction to destruct pagan idols, the god Veles. It is considered, that Ioann Bogoslov handed over to the him a crozier, which the monk could destruct this pagan idols. On the Vales place was created the monastery, where were keeping that crozier. As the legend told, that Ivan the Terrible went to Kazan, having taken the crozier.
After his victory, the tsar ordered to built the first stone temple at this monastery, which called – Bogoyavlensky.
This cathedral looks like to moscow cathedral, consecrated in honour of Blessed Basil and erected in memory of Kazan capture. Later on the territory of Bogoyavlensky monastery appeared the Vvedenskaya church.
Tech Support Phone Number
Customer Support Number
Customer Service Number
Best Technical Support Number